36th year of CAN convention concludes in Dimapur

Eucharistic celebration concluded the three-day 36th year convention of Catholic Association of Nagaland (CAN) at Holy Cross Church Dimapur on February 2, with Most. Rev. Dr. James Thoppil, bishop of Kohima diocese as the main celebrant.

A press release from CAN stated that, bishop in his homily expressed that it was a boost to Catholic faith as people from different parishes had come together to experience the salvation of God. Dwelling on the presentation of Jesus, which the Catholic church celebrates today, he said every consecrated life was a commitment to live for God and urged upon seeing the things of the world with eyes of faith.
Eucharistic celebration was also marked by entrance procession by the Zeliang Catholic community, Dimapur and offertory procession led by St Francis De Sales Dhobinala; first reading by Sarhunyi Stephen Dukru, second reading by Dr. John Kent, prayer of the faithful by Ruokuoneinuo Marina, and Gospel reading by Rev. Fr. Neisalhou Carolus, VG & ecclesiastical assistant CAN. Rocus R. Chasie, advisor and former president CAN led the Eucharistic celebration. The newly elected CAN executive committee was also blessed and commissioned during the mass. On Saturday evening during the valedictory function, CAN appreciation to needy institutions carrying an amount of Rs. 10,000 each was given to St. Xavier Minor Seminary, Jalukie, Missionaries of Charity, Rever Belt Colony and St. Joseph Children’s Home, Burma Camp during the valedictory function. During the function, folk songs and dances were also presented by different tribal units.
Meanwhile, CAN elected new office bearers for the tenure 2020-2022 which was announced by Seili Mathew, convenor, CAN election commission on February 1. The new team is led by president Johnny Ruangmei, Thomas Magh as secretary general along with ten executive members and five advisory committee.